Go to Pathways list
Support our work

BCY5 - Breast Cancer in Young Women: Fifth ESO-ESMO International Symposium

Co-Chairs: O.Pagani, CH - S. Paluch-Shimon, IL
Scientific Committee: F. Cardoso, PT - N. Harbeck, DE - A.H. Partridge, US - F.A. Peccatori, IT - E. Senkus, PL

Breast cancer in young women is a complex disease, occurring when these women are at the peak of their reproductive years, family life and careers. Being a somewhat rare disease, the optimal management of these patients is based on scientific data derived from clinical trials mostly conducted on older women. Many aspects of breast cancer in young women are therefore poorly understood (e.g. etiology and biology among others) and research is much needed in this field. In addition, young women have many years ahead of them to suffer the long-term effects of treatment and specific survivorship issues (fertility and job among others).
The international health situation forced us to turn the in-person BREAST CANCER IN YOUNG WOMEN FIFTH INTERNATIONAL CONSENSUS SYMPOSIUM into a virtual event. It will be a challenging opportunity for updating the available evidence on this field and generating future research concepts and collaborations. We have done our best to design and build a virtual meeting able to keep the interactive, international, and collaborative spirit.

It will cover:
- challenges and opportunities in different cultural and economic settings;
- follow-up care
- guidelines
- challenges in the management of ABC in young women.

It will also include a Consensus Session that will form the basis for a Consensus Guidelines manuscript to be published after the Symposium. We hope that you will decide to join us online and contribute to further develop the understanding and treatment of this disease.

Olivia Pagani
On behalf of the Co-Chair and the Scientific Committee Members

Registration for the symposium is mandatory but free (link below).
During the live streaming of the event (10/11 October 2020) live and pre-recorded sessions will be webcasted and participants will be able to discuss the topics with the involved experts via chat.
All the contents will be recorded and accessible via the e-ESO website after the event (registration to access the contents will remain open).

Registration will be confirmed by e-mail.

Organisation and Programme: Francesca Marangoni - fmarangoni@eso.net - +39 02 85464525
Faculty: Dolores Knupfer - dknupfer@eso.net - +41 91 8200952
Registrations: Corinne Hall - chall@eso.net - +39 02 85464522

Participants will be issued a certificate of attendance (minimum attendance: 75% of the entire course). An online evaluation questionnaire and learning assessment test will need to be completed in order to get the certficate that will be issued by email. 
Application for CME recognition will be submitted to the Accreditation Council of Oncology in Europe (ACOE) The American Medical Association (AMA) and the Accreditation Council for Continuous Medical Education (ACCME) designate this type of educational activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA category 1 credits per hour of activity.
ESMO-MORA credits will be granted by ESMO.

The Symposium enables ESCO students to earn ESCO credits and therefore access more ESCO benefits. Full and active participation in the Symposium earns participants 9 ESCO credits.
Visit www.esco.org for information on how to join ESCO.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram: #BCYonline

Click HERE to view the symposium brochure

Instructions on how to use e-ESO to participate in this event


The course will remain available until JANUARY 2022.


Moderator: Alexandru Eniu

Expert: Qiang Liu

Expert: Bhawna Sirohi

Expert: Sung-Bae Kim

Moderator: Elzbieta Senkus

Expert: Omalkhair Abulkhair

Expert: Bella Kaufman

Expert: Nagi S. El Saghir

Moderator: Ivana Bozovic-Spasojevic

Expert: Fatima Cardoso

Expert: Benjamin O. Anderson

Expert: Fedro Alessandro Peccatori

Chair: Fedro Alessandro Peccatori

Expert: Karen Gelmon

Expert: Michal Braun

Expert: Fatima Cardoso


Moderator: Antonella Richetti

In favour

Expert: Maria-João Cardoso


Expert: Oreste Davide Gentilini

Expert: Giancarlo Pruneri

Expert: Nadia Harbeck

Expert: Giuseppe Curigliano

Expert: Olivia Pagani

Expert: Hatem A. Azim Jr.

Chair: Shani Paluch-Shimon

Expert: Giancarlo Pruneri

Expert: Nadia Harbeck

Expert: Giuseppe Curigliano

Expert: Olivia Pagani

Expert: Sibylle Loibl

Expert: Matteo Lambertini

Expert: Shani Paluch-Shimon

Chair: Ann H. Partridge

Expert: Matteo Lambertini

Expert: Shani Paluch-Shimon

Expert: Ines Vaz-Luis

Chair: Shani Paluch-Shimon

Chair: Olivia Pagani


Chair: Olivia Pagani